Canada's Real Estate Appraisers of Choice

Trouver un Évaluateur

 

Joanne Slaney

Joanne Slaney, AACI, P.App

Directrice et gestionnaire générale, Recherche, Évaluation et Conseils, Groupe Altus St. John’s, T.-N.-L.

AIC-TOP AP-UNDER40GÇö2016 logo_FR_CMYK-02Joanne Slaney défend avec ardeur la profession d’évaluateur et fait inlassablement la promotion de St. John’s, à Terre-Neuve. Elle fait constamment preuve de maturité dans son leadership et son  professionnalisme tant dans son rôle de directrice et gestionnaire générale de la Recherche, Évaluation et Consultation chez le groupe Altus que dans ses rôles de bénévole à l’ICE et dans sa collectivité. 

Réalisation de carrière

Joanne a obtenu un baccalauréat en Commerce et un baccalauréat ès-arts de l’Université Memorial de Terre-Neuve et Labrador en 2004. Elle fut embauchée par le bureau de St. John’s, de Terre-Neuve et Labrador, du groupe Altus dès juillet 2004 et entreprit presque immédiatement ses études en vue de l’obtention d’une désignation AACI. Déterminée à élargir ses connaissances et à acquérir une expérience dans tous les aspects de l’immobilier, Joanne s’est acquittée rapidement des exigences en matière d’études et profita de toutes les occasions qui s’offraient à elle pour acquérir plus d’expérience, participant notamment au programme d’échange de personnel qui lui permit de travailler au bureau de Toronto. Son ambition et son désir d’apprendre le plus possible l’amenèrent à travailler aux bureaux d’Altus de Vancouver et de Calgary, tout en poursuivant ses études à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique en vue de l’obtention d’un certificat de deuxième cycle en évaluation immobilière en   2008. Joanne a aussi obtenu sa désignation AACI en 2008, à l’âge de 26 ans, devenant ainsi la plus jeune personne à recevoir cette désignation au Canada. 

sj_sept2012-1593a_72ppiEn 12 ans chez Altus, Joanne a progressé rapidement au sein de l’organisation en faisant preuve d’initiative, d’éthique de travail et d’engagement envers ses clients et ses collègues.  Elle est présentement directrice et gestionnaire générale au bureau de St. John’s depuis 2013. Tout au long de sa carrière, Joanne a participé à de nombreux projets internes visant à améliorer les procédés et les services aux clients d’Altus et n’a jamais hésité à assumer des rôles de leadership dans divers projets.

Outre sa contribution au groupe Altus, Joanne s’est constituée un formidable répertoire de clients. Elle aime le défi que présentent des situations complexes et l’occasion de faire équipe avec d’autres professionnels et organisations pour répondre aux besoins de ses clients. Elle a été membre de diverses équipes qui ont effectué d’importants contrats de service de consultation pour la province de Terre-Neuve et Labrador, diverses municipalités dans la province, ainsi que des clients locaux, nationaux et internationaux.
 
Joanne se spécialise dans les contrats de service d’aménagement et de consultation. Elle a aussi de l’expérience en évaluation d’un large éventail de propriétés commerciales, y compris des complexes multi résidentiels, des condominiums résidentiels, des développements industriels, des camps de pêche éloignés, des installations aéroportuaires, des communautés sur terrains de golf et des centres de ski. Joanne a aussi produit diverses études de consultation de recherche du marché. Joanne a été reconnue comme témoin expert et a été appelée à présenter son témoignage dans des audiences d’appel d’évaluation de taxe foncière et dans des cas en arbitrage. Elle a aussi participé à de nombreux événements dans l’industrie de l’immeuble en qualité de conférencière et d’animatrice.  

Contribution à titre de bénévole de l’ICE

downtown_shopping-704068En plus de ses engagements de carrière et de perfectionnement personnel, Joanne a toujours démontré un engagement envers sa profession et l’Institut canadien des évaluateurs (ICE). Au cours de sa période comme stagiaire et de ses études en vue d’obtenir sa désignation AACI, Joanne a commencé à travailler comme bénévole pour l’ICE, servant d’abord sur le Comité spécial chargé de passer en revue le cheminement de désignation de l’ICE et le programme des stagiaires et se joignant par la suite au Comité national de marketing et communications. Joanne a travaillé avec les membres du comité, le personnel de l’ICE et des consultants en marketing de l’extérieur à élaborer une campagne de marketing visant à encourager les jeunes professionnels à considérer une carrière en évaluation immobilière. Elle a aussi participé à la revue et à la refonte du site Web de l’ICE. 

Depuis l’obtention de sa désignation AACI, Joanne s’est portée bénévole pour siéger au Conseil des examinateurs de Terre-Neuve et Labrador de l’Institut canadien des évaluateurs (AIC-T.-N.-L.). En 2009, Joanne élargit son bénévolat avec l’association en se joignant au Conseil en qualité de membre hors-cadre siégeant sur divers comités de l’affiliée provinciale, y compris comme présidente du Comité de l’éducation. En 2012, à l’âge de 30 ans, Joanne devenait la première femme à la présidence de l’AIC-T.-N.-L.

En plus de son bénévolat aux conseils et comités nationaux et provinciaux de l’ICE, Joanne a été une participante active dans la promotion de la profession d’évaluation au sein des organisations immobilières et professionnelles, travaillant dans des kiosques lors de salons commerciaux pour professionnels et étudiants à promouvoir les services fournis par les membres de l’ICE et à expliquer le travail de consultation en évaluation immobilière.

Joanne rencontre régulièrement des stagiaires et aspirants stagiaires afin de répondre à leurs questions au sujet des exigences de formation menant à une désignation d’évaluateur professionnel et au sujet des divers cheminements et débouchés de carrière à la portée de ceux qui désirent faire carrière dans le domaine de l’évaluation. Joanne a travaillé et continue de travailler avec le programme de la Business Co-op School de la Memorial University à faire connaître le travail de consultant en immobilier comme possibilité de carrière. À l’automne de 2015, elle a présenté un exposé sur la carrière d’évaluateur lors du séminaire sur les occasions de carrière, décrivant les possibilités qui s’offrent aux personnes qui désirent obtenir une désignation professionnelle de l’ICE. Après avoir pris en main la gestion du bureau de St. John’s, elle a relancé la pratique d’embaucher des étudiants à des stages pratiques, exposant ainsi un nouveau groupe de futurs jeunes professionnels à l’ICE et à la carrière d’expert-conseil en évaluation immobilière. Elle a aussi aidé d’autres bureaux du Canada atlantique à mettre sur pied un programme similaire, de concert avec les universités locales, afin de faciliter l’embauche d’étudiants en commerce.

Engagement communautaire

Joanne fait aussi du bénévolat auprès de diverses organisations immobilières et professionnelles. Elle sert à la Building Owners and Managers Association of Newfoundland and Labrador (BOMANL) depuis 2008 et siège présentement au Conseil d’administration de cette organisation. Au cours de son mandat au Conseil d’administration de la BOMANL, Joanne a exercé diverses fonctions, y compris celles de présidente du Comité des événements et du Comité des prix et de membre du Comité des règlements. Joanne a servi au Comité stratégique  BOMEX 2011 et a été présidente du Comité de marketing de BOMEX 2011. Elle s’est vue décerner le Prix du président de BOMANL en reconnaissance de son engagement et de sa contribution au développement et au succès de l’organisation BOMANL.

sj_architectural2012-1005468-as-smart-object-1Joanne est aussi directrice et trésorière de Downtown St. John’s. Elle s’est jointe à cet organisme en 2015 en qualité d’administratrice et fut élue au poste de trésorière en janvier 2016. Elle est aussi présidente du Comité BIA Levy chargé de travailler avec la ville de St. John’s à élaborer un nouveau programme de calcul et de perception des droits. 

En plus de collaborer à diverses organisations professionnelles, Joanne appuie depuis longtemps, par son travail avec BOMANL, le Programme de sensibilisation aux dangers de la drogue (DARE) – aidant à organiser des événements de l’industrie pour commanditer ce programme. Depuis qu’elle a pris en main la gestion du bureau de St. John’s, Joanne a mis en œuvre diverses campagnes et levées de fonds à son bureau.

Tout récemment, au temps des Fêtes, Joanne et son équipe du bureau de St. John’s ont collecté des fonds pour venir en aide à une mère seule et sa fille, achetant des cadeaux de Noël et des cartes d’achats d’épiceries pour faire de ce Noël une journée mémorable. En plus d’aider des œuvres de bienfaisance par son travail avec la Course à la vie, Shave for the Brave et Relais pour la vie. À la mémoire de sa grand-mère, Joanne et divers membres de sa famille ont participé à diverses campagnes au profit de la Société Alzheimer de Terre-Neuve et Labrador.

Félicitations à Joanne Slaney. L’ICE applaudit ses remarquables réalisations au sein de la profession d’évaluation et ses contributions à sa collectivité.


Show Buttons
Hide Buttons

Canada's Real Estate Appraisers of Choice

Find An Appraiser

 

Joanne Slaney

Joanne Slaney, AACI, P.App

Director & General Manager, Research, Valuation & Advisory,

Altus Group  St. John’s, NL

AIC-TOP AP-UNDER40-2016-LOGOJoanne Slaney is a strong advocate of the appraisal profession and a tireless promoter of St. Johns, Newfoundland. She consistently demonstrates leadership and professionalism beyond her years as she excels in both her current role as Director & General Manager, Research, Valuation & Advisory within Altus Group as well as her volunteer roles within AIC and her community.

Career Accomplishments

Joanne completed a Bachelor of Commerce and a Bachelor of Arts at Memorial University of Newfoundland and Labrador in 2004. She was hired by the St. John’s, Newfoundland and Labrador office of Altus Group in July 2004 and began studying and working towards her AACI designation almost immediately. Focused on expanding her knowledge and gaining experience in all things related to real estate, Joanne worked quickly through the education requirements and took full advantage of all opportunities presented to her including participation in a Staff Exchange Program which permitted her the opportunity to work in the Toronto office. Her ambition and drive to learn as much as she could led her to complete various work assignments in the Vancouver and Calgary Altus offices, all the while continuing her studies through the University of British Columbia to earn a Post Graduate Certificate in Real Property Valuation in 2008. Joanne also achieved her AACI designation in 2008 at the age of 26. At the time she received her AACI designation Joanne was the youngest-ever AACI in Canada.

sj_sept2012-1593a_72ppiIn her 12 years with Altus, Joanne quickly progressed through the organization by showing great initiative, work-ethic, and commitment to her clients and colleagues. She is currently the Director and General Manager of the St. John’s office, a position she has held since 2013. Through her career, Joanne participated in several internal projects to enhance Altus’ processes and client service and was always willing to assume leadership roles on various projects.

In addition to her contribution to Altus Group, Joanne has built a formidable client resume. Joanne enjoys the challenge of complex real estate assignments and having the opportunity to partner with other professionals and organizations to meet the needs of her clients. She has been a member of various teams that have completed large consulting assignments for the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador, various municipalities throughout Newfoundland and Labrador as well as local, national and international clients.

Joanne specializes in land development and consulting assignments, and she also has experience in valuing a large range of commercial properties including multi-residential, residential condominium, industrial developments, remote fishing lodges, airport facilities, golf course communities and ski hill developments. Joanne has also completed a number of consulting and market research studies. Joanne has also been accepted as an expert witness and given testimony in both tax appeal hearings and arbitration cases. As well she has participated in multiple real estate industry events presenting and moderating sessions.

Involvement as an AIC Volunteer

downtown_shopping-704068In addition to her commitment to her career and personal professional growth Joanne has always demonstrated commitment to her profession and the Appraisal Institute of Canada (AIC). During her candidacy and while studying for her AACI Joanne began her volunteer work with the AIC; first serving on a special committee reviewing the AIC path to designation and the candidacy program and subsequently joining the National Marketing and Communications Committee. During her time on the Marketing and Communications Committee Joanne worked with committee members, AIC staff and outside marketing consultants to develop a marketing campaign to encourage young professionals to consider a career as a real estate appraiser. She was also involved in the review and redesign of the AIC website.

Since achieving her AACI designation, Joanne volunteered to sit on the Appraisal Institute of Canada- Newfoundland-Labrador (AIC-NL) Board of Examiners. In 2009 Joanne expanded her volunteer work with the AIC-NL by joining the board as a director at large and going on to serve on various committees within the provincial affiliate including a position as Chair of the Education Committee. In 2012 at the age of 30 Joanne became the first female President of the AIC-NL.

As well as her volunteer efforts on boards and committees at the national and provincial level of AIC Joanne has been an active participant in promoting the appraisal profession within other real estate and professional organizations through attending and staffing tradeshow booths at both professional industry events and career fairs promoting the services provided by AIC members as well as a career in the appraisal and real estate consulting field.

Joanne also routinely meets with candidates and potential candidates to answer questions about the training requirements to achieve a professional appraisal designation as well as potential career paths and opportunities that may be available to those wishing to pursue a career in the appraisal field. Joanne works with Memorial University through the Business Co-op School to bring awareness to real estate consulting as a career path. She presented a career overview presentation in the fall of 2015 at the Co-op Education Career Opportunities Seminar outlining career opportunities for individuals who wish to pursue a professional designations with AIC. After taking over management of the St. John’s office she revitalized the practice of hiring business co-op students exposing a new group of future young professionals to AIC and real estate consulting as a career; she has also assisted other offices within Atlantic Canada in developing a similar program of working with local universities to facilitate the hiring of business students.

Community Involvement

Joanne also volunteers with various real estate and professional organizations. She has been serving on the Building Owners and Managers Association of Newfoundland and Labrador (BOMANL) since 2008 and currently holds a director position with the organization. During her time on the BOMANL board Joanne has held various positions, including past chair of the events committee, past chair and co‐chair of the awards Committee, and member of the bylaw committee. Joanne served on the BOMEX 2011 Strategic Committee and was chair of the BOMEX 2011 Marketing Committee. She was awarded the BOMANL President’s Award for her commitment and contribution to the development and success of the BOMANL organization.

sj_architectural2012-1005468-as-smart-object-1Joanne is also a Director and Treasurer of Downtown St. John’s. She joined the board in 2015 as a director and was elected to the Treasurer position in January 2016. She also chairs the BIA Levy committee that is working with the City of St. John’s to develop a new program for calculation and collection of the BIA Levy.

As well as being involved in various professional organizations Joanne, through her work with BOMA NL, has been a long standing supporter of the Drug Abuse Resistance Education (DARE) program –assisting in organizing industry events to provide sponsorship to this program. After taking over management of the St. John’s office Joanne implemented various drives and fundraisers within her office.

Most recently during the holiday season Joanne and her team at the St. John’s office raised funds to sponsor a single mom and her daughter providing Christmas gifts and monetary grocery gift cards to help make the holiday season special for this family. In addition to her support for charities through her work at Altus Group Joanne is a supporter of various cancer organizations. She has participated in fundraisers for Run for the Cure; Shave for the Brave and the Relay for Life. In memory of her grandmother Joanne and various members of her family volunteer and participate in various fundraisers with the Alzheimer Society Newfoundland & Labrador

Congratulations to Joanne Slaney.  AIC applauds her for her significant accomplishments within the appraisal profession and her contributions to her community.


Show Buttons
Hide Buttons