Suzanne de Jong, AACI, P.App Elected as New President to the Appraisal Institute of Canada at 2022 Annual General Meeting Français



Appraisal Institute of Canada Institut canadien des évaluateurs

NEWS PROVIDED BY **Appraisal Institute of Canada →** Jun 16, 2022, 14:53 ET

AIC Also Recognizes Exceptional Volunteers

OTTAWA, ON, June 16, 2022 /CNW/ - The Appraisal Institute of Canada (AIC) is pleased to announce the election of Suzanne de Jong, AACI, P.App of London, Ontario as AIC's National President for 2022-2023. Ms. de Jong was formally inducted during AIC's 2022 Annual General Meeting held in Edmonton, Alberta on June 10, 2022.

Suzanne obtained her CRA designation in 1993 and went on to receive her AACI in 2003. Suzanne's appraisal experience spans several decades and has included apartment, office, retail commercial, industrial and residential development land. She works with a broad range of clients including financial institutions, real estate development firms, insurance companies, lawyers, accountants, and local investors. She has significant experience appraising unique properties with title issues and has provided expert witness testimony at the Board of Negotiation and the Ontario Municipal Board.

Announcing the election of Suzanne de Jong, AACI, P.App of London, Ontario as AIC's National President for 2022-2023.

Suzanne has been actively involved as a volunteer with the AIC at the Local, Provincial and National Levels for over 26 years, enjoying committee work, across many important initiatives. She has served on the Executive Committee of the London Chapter of the AIC, is a past member of the Executive Board of Directors for the Ontario Association and has served on the National Board of the Appraisal Institute of Canada for 4 years. As past chair of the AIC's Applied Experience Sub Committee, she worked closely with the University of British Columbia - Sauder School of Business to develop an applied experience program for Candidates working towards their designation. In 2015, Suzanne was awarded The President's Award of Excellence by the Ontario Association of Appraisal Institute of Canada.

"I am passionate about the future of our profession, advocating for our members and identifying opportunities for growth and diversification. There's a saying that "change is inevitable – growth and advancement are optional" – AIC is continually evolving to ensure the organization remains vibrant and to ensure we are aligning ourselves with the needs of government bodies, lending institutions, the legal profession, engineers, insurance companies, developers, and consumers." said Suzanne de Jong, President of the Appraisal Institute of Canada.

Joining Ms. de Jong on the AIC Executive Committee are:

- Claudio Polito, AACI, P.App President-Elect (Ontario)
- André Pouliot, AACI, P.App, Fellow Past-President (Nova Scotia)
- Dena Knopp, CRA, P.App Vice President (Alberta)
- Ed Saxe, CRA, P.App Vice President (Ontario)

Other members of the Board include:

- Brad Brewster, AACI, P.App (Alberta)
- Stephen Blacklock, AACI, P.App (British Columbia)
- Terry Dowle, AACI, P.App (British Columbia)
- Deana Halladay, CRA, P.App, Fellow (Manitoba)
- Adam Dickinson, AACI, P.App (New Brunswick)
- Joanne Slaney, AACI, P.App (Newfoundland/Labrador)
- Louis Poirier, AACI, P.App (Québec)
- Thomas Fox, AACI, P.App, Fellow (Saskatchewan)
- Scott Wilson, AACI, P.App, Fellow (Prince Edward Island)

AIC's Chief Executive Officer serves as a non-voting member of both the AIC Executive Committee and the Board of Directors.

2022 Volunteer Recognition Awards

Several awards were presented during the 2022 AIC Annual General Meeting, including:

The title of **Fellow** is granted to Designated Members who have distinguished themselves by their exemplary contributions to the profession. This is demonstrated by a high level of excellence and achievement that has contributed to the advancement of the profession. The Fellowship Award is granted at the discretion of the National Board of Directors. This year's winners are:

- Patricia Cooper, AACI, P.App, Fellow
- André Pouliot, AACI, P.App, Fellow
- Deana Halladay, CRA, P.App, Fellow
- Darrell Thorvaldson, AACI, P.App, Fellow

The **W.C. McCutcheon Award** is granted to outstanding volunteers of the Appraisal Institute of Canada who have been long-standing committee volunteers and have demonstrated leadership and commitment to the Institute and profession.

This year's winners are:

- David Shum, AACI, P.App, Fellow
- Dan Brewer, AACI, P.App, Fellow
- Dan Wilson, AACI, P.App, Fellow

The **Tyler Beatty Award for the Top Appraiser under 40 Award** was presented to two exceptional young valuation professionals:

- Katie Manojlovich, AACI, P.App
- JT Dhoot, AACI, P.App

For more information about the 2022 awards, please visit:

www.aicanada.ca/about-aic/volunteer-awards/

ABOUT AIC

The Appraisal Institute of Canada (AIC) is the leading real property valuation association with over 5,500 members across Canada. Established in 1938, the AIC works collaboratively with its 10 provincial affiliated associations to grant the distinguished Accredited Appraiser Canadian Institute (AACI[™]) and Canadian Residential Appraiser (CRA[™]) designations. AIC Designated Members are highly qualified, respected professionals who undertake comprehensive curriculum, experience and examination requirements. Our members provide unbiased appraisal, appraisal review, consulting, reserve fund study and machinery and equipment appraisal services on all types of properties within their areas of competence. For more information, go to <u>www.AICanada.ca</u> and follow AIC on <u>LinkedIn</u>, <u>Twitter</u>, Facebook.

SOURCE Appraisal Institute of Canada

For further information: Media Contact: Paul Hébert, Appraisal Institute of Canada, 613.292.2876, paulh@aicanada.ca